Janet Stanzak, principal and owner of Financial Empowerment LLC of Bloomington, Minn., has been elected president-elect of the Financial Planning Association (FPA) for next year.

She will take over as president in 2014, succeeding FPA's 2013 president, Michael Branham. The announcement was made at the FPA annual conference, Experience 2012, in San Antonio, Texas, on Saturday.

Stanzak has served on the FPA board of directors since 2010 and has been a member of the FPA and one of its predecessor organizations since 1985. She was president of the FPA's Minnesota chapter, director of member services and a public relations committee member.

Her firm specializes in high-net-worth clients and families seeking advice because of transitions.

The National Association of Personal Financial Planners (Napfa) offered its congratulations to Stanzak, who has been a Napfa-registered financial advisor since 2008.

"Napfa has worked closely with FPA as part of the Financial Planning Coalition to successfully raise the profile on issues jointly important to our industry," said Lauren Locker, CFP, Napfa national chairwoman. "Our collective work is focused on extending the fiduciary standard to anyone providing personalized investment advice and ensuring oversight of the profession remains at the Securities and Exchange Commission."

Also announced at the FPA San Antonio conference was the award of the 2012 P. Kemp Fain Jr. Award to David M. King, who served as first chairman of the International Board of Standards and Practices for Certified Financial Planners Inc. He has been an advocate for a strong and enforceable code of ethics for CFP professionals. The P. Kemp Fain Jr. Award recognizes an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the financial planning profession.

The 2011 Montgomery-Warschauer Award was awarded to Wade D. Pfau. It is given by the editors of the FPA's Journal of Financial Planning. It honors the person who made the most outstanding contribution to the betterment of the journal's readership.

The recipients of The Heart of Financial Planning Award also were announced. The award recognizes those who contribute and give back to the financial planning community and the public through financial planning, volunteering and helping in their communities. The winners were:

Jon Beyrer, vice president of wealth management at Blankinship & Foster LLC in Solana Beach, Calif.; Reed Fraasa, president of Highland (N.J.) Financial Advisors LLC; Omega Hartman, founder and principal of Omega Financial Management in Essex County, N.J.; Anja Luesink, president of Luesink Financial Planning LLC in New York; Ruth Lytton, who works with the financial planning program at Virginia Tech; Kathy Muldoon, senior vice president of Carter Financial Management in Dallas/Fort Worth; Jon R. Power, who works with the military in Massachusetts; Neal J. Solomon, managing director and CCO at WealthPro LLC in northeastern New York; Richard E. Vodra, founding member of Nazrudin Project, a free-form think tank of the top minds in financial planning in the Washington, D.C. area; and David Yeske, managing director at Yeske Buie in San Francisco.

-Karen DeMasters