The Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) has appointed six new members to its Investor Advisory Committee, the agency announced today in a news release.

The committee was established under the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act to advise the SEC on regulatory priorities, regulation of securities products, trading strategies, fee structures, disclosure effectiveness, and initiatives to protect investors and promote investor confidence and the integrity of the U.S. securities market, the SEC said.

The new members of the Investor Advisory Committee are Cien Asoera, a financial advisor with Edward Jones; Theodore “Ted” Daniels, founder and president of Society for Financial Education and Professional Development; Elissa Germaine, a professor at Pace Law School, executive director of John Jay Legal Services and director of the investor Rights Clinic at Pace Law School; Satyam Khanna, (who will join the committee on July 5), resident fellow at the NYU School of Law Institute for Corporate Governance and Finance; Lori Lucas, CFA, president and CEO of the Employee Benefit Research Institute; Christopher Mirabile, senior managing director and board member at Launchpad Venture Group and chair emeritus at Angel Capital Association.

The Investor Advisory Committee’s next meeting will take place Thursday, May 21, and will be available to view via webcast at