The CFP Board of Standards has renamed its key governing bodies and named new members to the board of governors.
   Under the changes adopted at the board's October 24, the board of governors will be renamed the board of directors. The board of examiners, which develops the CFP Board's examinations, will be called the Council on Examinations. The board of professional review, which enforces the organization's ethical standards, will become the disciplinary and ethics commission.
The changes will go into effect January 1.
   Board officials say the changes are "designed to clarify the roles and relationships between the board, the sub-boards and CFP Board's staff."
   In other developments, the board has selected David Strege as 2007 chair-elect. He will fill the seat at the start of 2007, when current chair-elect Karen P. Schaeffer becomes chair of the board of directors. Strege, of Syverson Strege and Company in West Des Moines, Iowa, has 20 years experience as a CFP practitioner and has served on the board of governors since 2004.
   The following individuals were appointed to four-year terms on the board starting January 1:
    Theodore R. Daniels, who is founder, president and CEO of the Society for Financial Education and Professional Development, a non-profit founded in 1998. He previously was a member of the CFP Board's consumer advisory council.
    Alan Goldfarb, director of financial strategies at Weaver and Tidwell Financial Advisors Ltd. in Dallas and director of the Financial Services MBA Program at the University of Dallas Graduate School of Management. He served as chair of the board of professional review in 2006.
    Nancy Johnson Jones, chief compliance officer and senior managing advisor with BKD, LLP in Springfield, Mo.
   The board also appointed I. Richard Ploss and Richard J. Potter to the council on examinations and Patricia Russell Coriden and James F. Williams to the disciplinary and ethics commission.