Have a client affected by the recent Florida hurricanes? The Internal Revenue Service has announced special tax relief for Florida taxpayers in the Presidential Disaster Area that was struck by Hurricane Frances beginning Sept. 3. It also lengthened the extension period it had earlier granted for the disaster area counties struck by the storms Bonnie and Charley, most of which are also in the latest disaster area.

Taxpayers in either disaster area generally will have until Dec. 30 to file tax returns and submit tax payments. The IRS will abate interest and any late filing or late payment penalties that would apply.

The Hurricane Frances disaster area consists of 42 counties: Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Brevard, Broward, Charlotte, Citrus, Clay, Columbia, DeSoto, Dixie, Duval, Flagler, Gilchrist, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Hernando, Highlands, Hillsborough, Indian River, Lake, Lee, Levy, Marion, Martin, Miami-Dade, Nassau, Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola, Palm Beach, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, Seminole, St. Johns, St. Lucie , Sumter, Union and Volusia.

No news yet on relief for Ivan victims, but we would expect it to be forthcoming.