Morningstar Inc. has announced its nominees for a new award-Morningstar Fund Manager of the Decade.

Morningstar will select winners in three broad asset classes-domestic stock, international stock and fixed income. The Fund Manager of the Decade award recognizes fund managers who have achieved superior results over the past 10 years and have an established record of serving shareholders well. The nominees are:

Domestic-Stock Fund Manager of the Decade

Bruce Berkowitz, Fairholme (FAIRX)
Charlie Dreifus, Royce Special Equity Investment (RYSEX)
Steve Romick, FPA Crescent (FPACX)
Joel Tillinghast, Fidelity Low-Priced Stock (FLPSX)
Don Yacktman, Yacktman (YACKX)

International-Stock Fund Manager of the Decade

The team, American Funds EuroPacific Growth A (AEPGX)
The team, Manning and Napier World Opportunities A (EXWAX)
Jean-Marie Eveillard, First Eagle Global A (SGENX)
David Herro, Oakmark International Small Cap I and Oakmark International I (OAKEX and OAKIX)
Dennis Stattman, BlackRock Global Allocation A (MDLOX)

Fixed-Income Fund Manager of the Decade

The team, Dodge and Cox Income (DODIX)
Dan Fuss, Loomis Sayles Bond Retail (LSBRX)
Bill Gross, PIMCO Total Return Institutional (PTTRX)
Jeffrey Gundlach, TCW Total Return Bond I (TGLMX)
Christine Thompson, Fidelity Municipal Income and Fidelity Advisor Municipal Income A (FHIGX and FAMUX)

"The past 10 years have been the most brutal period for investors since the 1930s. Two severe bear markets wiped out years of prior gains and have left many investors with uninspiring returns over the entire period," said Karen Dolan, director of mutual fund analysis for Morningstar. "The nominees for this award excelled by relying on their own original research, preserving capital when needed, and having the patience to stick with their approaches in good times and bad."

Morningstar will announce the award winners in January following its Fund Manager of the Year awards.